1. Travel

Pretoria, Administrative Capital of South Africa


South Africa has 3 capital cities. Pretoria is the administrative capital, Cape Town is the legislative capital and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital.
Pretoria, Administrative Capital of South Africa

Pretoria, Administrative Capital of South Africa

South African Tourism

About Pretoria (Tshwane)

Pretoria (Tshwane) is South Africa's administrative capital and is located in Gauteng Province. Over 2 million people live in Pretoria and this is also where all the foreign embassies are located. It's a well planned out, large city, see map. The main street, Church Street is 26 km (16 miles) long. Many of the hotels, museums and restaurants are in the center around Church square, to the east in Arcadia and south in the upscale suburb of Waterkloof.

Getting to Pretoria/Tshwane

The Johannesburg International Airport about a 40 minute drive from Pretoria and shuttle buses offer frequent service.

Trains run from Jo'burg, Durban, and Cape Town. You could splash out and get the famous, ultra-luxurious Blue Train from Cape Town.

Renting a car is easy, it's about a 40 minute drive from Johannesburg, 5 hours from Bloemfontein, 15 hours from Cape Town. Five major highways meet nearby, so it's easy to get to from anywhere in the country.

Catch a long-distance bus on the Translux, Greyhound, or Intercape Mainliner.

Where to Stay and Eat in Pretoria/Tshwane

Stay in a township or at one of Pretoria's many hotels, B&B's and Guesthouses. For budget travelers check out the Hatfield area.

Pretoria has lots of excellent restaurants, for a good list click here. For bars and nightlife head over to the Hatfield area near the University.

Getting Around

Buses, taxis and a train will get you from city center to the Loftus Versfeld stadium.

What to See in Pretoria/Tshwane

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Africa Travel
  4. South Africa
  5. Johannesburg/Gauteng
  6. Pretoria, Administrative Capital of South Africa

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.